2017-'18 Season Coverage
updated: 12/13/2012 7:15 PM

IHSA releases postseason assignments

Success - Article sent! close

Little to nothing has changed in the way the IHSA has assigned teams to the Class 4A girls basketball postseason.

All Fox Valley area teams are assigned to two different sectional complexes -- one at Bartlett and one at Rockford East -- that feed into the Dundee-Crown supersectional.

Bartlett's sectional complex has 21 teams, including Geneva, St. Charles East, Wheaton North and Wheaton Warrenville South. Elk Grove, Schaumburg, St. Charles East and WW South are the regional hosts.

The Rockford East sectional is set up in predetermined regionals per IHSA guidelines.

Streamwood will host a regional that includes Jacobs, Dundee-Crown, Elgin, Larkin, South Elgin and the host Sabres, and Crystal Lake South hosts a regional that includes Cary-Grove, CL Central, Prairie Ridge, Grant, McHenry and the host Gators.

Also hosting a regional in the Rockford East sectional is Belvidere North, where Huntley is assigned along with DeKalb, Rockford East, Rockford Jefferson and the host Blue Thunder. The other regional that feeds to the Rockford East sectional is at Rockford Auburn and includes Machesney Park Harlem, Rockford Boylan, Rockford Guilford, Hononegah and the host school.

In Class 3A, Genoa-Kingston hosts a sectional that will include regional winners from Stillman Valley, Sterling, Burlington Central and Woodstock. Hampshire, Kaneland, Plano, Sandwich and Sycamore are assigned to the BC regional along with the host Rockets.

Also in Class 3A St. Edward, bumped up a class this season, is assigned to the Vernon Hills sectional complex. Included in that 22-team field along with the host Cougars, who took second in the Class 3A state finals last season, is St. Viator, Grayslake Central and Johnsburg, which will host a regional. The other regional hosts are Chicago Northside, Lakes and Ridgewood.

In Class 1A, Harvest Christian will host a regional that feeds to the Westminster Christian sectional. Westminster, Christian Liberty, Elgin Academy and Cristo Rey of Waukegan join the host Lions in the Harvest regional.

Class 1A seeding is Jan. 9, while seeding for Class 3A and 4A is Jan. 16.

Get articles sent to your inbox.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.